お知らせ / ニュース

Information / News

Wakana(NZからのメッセージ)

ニュージーランドからのメッセージ 2018/07/06

Kia ora koutou! Ko Wakana toku ingoa. Hi, guys! I’m Wakana. I’m living in Te Kuiti with my wonderful host family. Te Kuiti is a small town and a part of Waikato. I’m enjoying my life here in New Zealand. I’d like to share my life with you guys. Are you ready for reading? It’s still the beginning.

Firstly, I’d like to talk about my usual life. There are five people in my family now. My host father, Glen is working at Te Kuiti high school and he is my engineering teacher. He almost always cooks dinner. He loves fishing, so we sometimes go to Kawhia which is located on the west coast of North Island. My host mother, Kim is working at Piopio primary which is 20 mins away from Te Kuiti. My host brother, Chris is a year 9 student of Te Kuiti high school and he plays soccer and hockey. My host sister, Laura is an exchange student from Brazil and she is staying with us until the end of next holidays. Chris has a sister who is going to uni in Auckland and he also has a brother who is farming away from home. Each family member has different jobs on each days. There are cooking dinner, washing dishes, drying dishes, washing and hanging out clothes, folding clothes and the others.

Next, I’d like to talk about my school life. We leave home at half past 7, because Glen has to get to work early. I’m taking ESOL, Maori, PE, English, carpentry, engineering and tourism. I’m happy taking these classes because I have to take math, biology, social studies etc in Japan. We sometimes play basketball at PE class. When I make a shot, everyone says “nice shot” and “money” to me. At the break, I hang out with friends and we talk about sports, singers, and so on. I speak slowly and I’m a bit worried about my English, but they try to understand me. To be honest, it was difficult to make friends to hang out with in term 1. However, after finishing the April camp, I tried to hang out with a lot of friends, so I can enjoy my life now. I’m playing basketball with wonderful and funny Kiwi mates. I can say that basketball has been a part of my life, so I’m really happy playing here as well. We have two games a week. On Tuesday, we play at the stadium in TK. On Wednesday, we go up to other towns to play and we go to KFC, McDonald’s, Pizza Hut and so on for dinner. This is why I’m getting fat haha. We have the regional tournament on September. When we have an away game in Japan, our parents pay the cost, but in NZ, we have to get money by fundraising, selling lotto tickets and doing hangi. I have one thing that I was surprised about. We have to wear a mouthguard to play basketball. Honestly, it’s uncomfortable. I just joined the kapahaka and hockey teams, so I wanna enjoy communication with my teammates, too.

I have a lot more that I want share with you guys, but considering the length of this page, I have to finish here. No reira, tena koutou katoa. Thank you for reading.

Aloha whanau. Love.
Wakana Omiya

――――――――――――――――――――――

こんにちは、皆さん!和奏です。私は、テクイティに素敵なホストファミリーと住んでいます。テクイティは小さな街で、ワイカト地方の一部です。私は、ニュージーランドでの生活を楽しんでいます。皆さんに私の生活を共有したいと思います。準備はできていますか? まだ、始まったばかりですよ(笑)  

まず始めに、私の普段の生活について話したいと思います。今、私は5人家族です。ホストファザーのグレンは、テクイティハイスクールで働いていて私の技術の先生です。ほぼ毎日の夕食は彼が作ります。彼は魚釣りが好きで、私たちはよく北島の西に位置するカウヒアに行きます。ホストマザーのキムは、テクイティから20分ほど離れたピオピオという街の小学校の先生です。ホストブラザーのクリスは、テクイティハイスクールの生徒でサッカーとホッケーをしています。ホストシスターのローラは、ブラジルからの留学生で次の休暇の終わりまで生活を共にします。クリスにはオークランド大学に通うお姉さんと離れた街で農業をしているお兄さんがいます。私たちは、夕食作り、皿洗い、皿拭き、洗濯物干し、洗濯物たたみなど日によって異なる役割があります。

次に、私の学校生活について話したいと思います。グレンの仕事のため、私たちは家を7時半に出ます。私は、ESOL(留学生のための英語)、マオリ、体育、英語、大工業、技術、観光学の授業をとっています。私はこのような授業を受けられて嬉しいです、なぜなら日本では数学や生物、現代社会などを受けなければいけないからです。私たちは、ときどき体育でバスケをします。私がシュートをきめたとき、みんなが「ナイスショット」や「マニー」と声をかけてくれます。休み時間には、友達と試合の話や歌手の話などをして過ごします。私は自分の英語に自身が持てなくゆっくりと話しますが、私の友達は私の会話を理解しようとしてくれます。正直に話すと、一学期は一緒に過ごす友達をつくるのに苦労しました。しかし、キャンプを終えて私はたくさんの友達と過ごすようにしました。そのおかげで今、楽しめているのだと思います。私は、面白くて素敵な仲間とバスケをしています。バスケットボールは私の人生の一部だと言えるほどしてきたので、ここでもバスケができてとても嬉しいです。私たちは、週に2回試合があります。火曜日の夜はテクイティにあるスタジアムで、水曜日の夜は他の街まで車で移動し、KFCやマクドナルド、ピザなどを夕食として食べます。これが太る原因です(笑) 私たちは、9月に大会があります。日本で遠征があるときは私たちの両親が費用を払ってくれますが、ニュージーランドでは自分たちでロトチケットを売ったり、ハンギ(マオリ伝統の料理)をしたりしてお金を集めます。一つ驚いたことがあります。それは、バスケをするときにマウスガードをつけなければいけないことです。正直に言うとつけ心地が良くないです。私はカパハカとホッケーを始めたばかりなので、これからチームメイトと良いコミュニケーションをとれるといいです。

私には皆さんに共有したいことがまだまだありますが、このページ上ここで終わらなければいけません。読んでくださりありがとうございました。

愛を込めて
大宮 和奏